this product is unavailable for purchase using a firm account, please log in with a personal account to make this purchase.

2020/21 Membership Year

Your membership is due for renewal by 30 June 2020. 

Renew Now

LIV 2007 Awards nominations call


Cite as: (2007) 81(7) LIJ, p. 16

Wisewoulds senior associate Catherine Dwyer’s framed Law Institute of Victoria (LIV) President’s Award certificate hangs prominently in her office.

One of the 2006 LIV President’s Awards winners, Ms Dwyer, 33, has few doubts about its value, both personally and professionally.

“It’s something rewarding which adds to my achievements in the law,” Ms Dwyer said.

Created to recognise professional excellence and outstand-ing service in legal practice, the President’s Awards are granted annually.

While Catherine Dwyer has been practising for just nine years, fellow award winners, many years her senior and in larger and smaller firms, were equally thrilled with their wins.

Some said their awards elicited congratulations and a “few comments from clients and partners”.

At DLA Phillips Fox, partner Michael Regos said that he found his Accredited Specialist’s Award “personally very satisfying”.

“Prizes are something that [when you work] at a higher level are rarely handed out and they ought to be celebrated,” Mr Regos, 48, said.

“It’s recognition by our governing body of our professional standing.”

Joseph Thereisa, 44, who moved to Australia from Singapore just three years ago, shared the Pro Bono Award with his associate Theo Magazis, of Theo Magazis & Associates, for their work on behalf of the executed heroin smuggler Van Nguyen.

Mr Thereisa said the work itself was reward enough.

LIV president Geoff Provis urged all lawyers and legal centres to consider nominating colleagues, especially those with outstanding achievements in protecting human rights, the presumption of innocence and the premise of equality.

Nominations for the LIV President’s Awards 2007 close on 16 July.

The awards are given in nine categories – General, Pro Bono, Government Lawyers’, Regional Lawyers’, New Lawyers’, Access to Justice, Accredited Specialists’, Community Lawyers’ and Legal Ethics.

The awards are open to any current Victorian legal practitioner and recognise outstanding contributions made to the general community, professional excellence in legal practice and the promotion and advancement of the legal profession.

For more details about the awards and to download the nomination form, see


Leave message

 Security code
LIV Social