this product is unavailable for purchase using a firm account, please log in with a personal account to make this purchase.

2020/21 Membership Year

Your membership is due for renewal by 30 June 2020. 

Renew Now

LSB election results


Cite as: July 2014 88 (07) LIJ, p.13

Solicitors Cate Dealehr and Steve Stevens have been elected to the Legal Services Board (LSB) as non-advocate representatives.

Both lawyers were recognised in the Law Institute of Victoria Legal Awards in May (see p18). A costs specialist, Ms Dealehr won the Access to Justice Award and Mr Stevens, a tax lawyer, won the President’s Honorary Award.

Peter Jopling QC was also elected to the LSB, as the advocate representative.

Mr Stevens and Mr Jopling were existing members of the LSB and were re-elected.

LSB chair Fiona Bennett said there was an extremely strong level of interest in the three board positions available, with three barristers and 12 solicitors nominating for the positions.

“It is encouraging to see the legal profession being so interested and engaged in the important role played by the board,” Ms Bennett said.

The LSB is the peak regulator for the legal profession in Victoria. It is responsible for a broad range of functions including lawyer registration, approving the rules that govern the profession, monitoring trust accounts and making grants to enhance legal services and community legal education.

“The skills and knowledge which these elected representatives will bring to the board will help maintain the board’s reputation for strong governance and the efficient and effective regulation of the legal profession in Victoria,” Ms Bennett said, adding thanks to outgoing board member Richard Fleming for his “excellent contribution”.

“Richard has provided invaluable support to the work of the board over the last four years, including through chairmanship of the audit committee and membership of both the fidelity fund committee and the finance and investment committee.”

The LSB election was held between April and May 2014 and was managed by the Victorian Electoral Commission.

The board positions become effective on 1 July and members serve a four-year term.


Leave message

 Security code
LIV Social