this product is unavailable for purchase using a firm account, please log in with a personal account to make this purchase.

Moot champions charity


Cite as: (2004) 78(10) LIJ, p. 29

Allens Arthur Robinson is the winner of the 2004 Hanover Welfare Services and Law Institute Mooting Competition.

Allens Arthur Robinson (AAR) has taken out its second Hanover Welfare Services and Law Institute Mooting Competition in four years with a hard-fought victory over Minter Ellison.

The AAR team successfully argued its side on 19 August in the appeal of Moore v Moor-Davenport, a case involving a dispute over a will. The appeal was heard before Court of Appeal president John Winneke and Court of Appeal justices Peter Buchanan and Alex Chernov.

The AAR team comprised Elizabeth Bennett, Deborah Mandie, Carly Schrever and Anna Brown. They were the second team representing the firm to win the competition, with the other victory coming in 2001.

The members of the Minter Ellison team were Tristan Sedel, Jason McQuillen and Nick Molan.

The final was a culmination of two months of preliminary heats involving 20 teams representing firms and law associations.

Kate Trahair, from Arnold Bloch Leibler, and Claire Buckley, from the Gippsland Law Association, were joint winners of the outstanding advocate award.

The event raised a record $40,000 for Hanover Welfare Services, a non-profit agency that helps homeless men, women and children.

For more information on Hanover, go to


Leave message

 Security code
LIV Social